Langan on pronouns

In another post (t/k) I will explain why ‘me’ is the correct pronoun in “The sweaters Mom knitted for Victor and me are too small.” But first, by way of introduction, here is what John Langan has to say about pronouns in general.

From Chapter 29 : Pronoun Agreement and Reference (p. 513):

Nouns name persons, places, or things. Pronouns are words that take the place of nouns. In fact, the word pronoun means “for a noun.” Pronouns are shortcuts that keep you from unnecessarily repeating words in writing. Here are some examples of pronouns:

Eddie left his camera on the bus.
(His is a pronoun that takes the place of Eddie’s.)
Elena drank the coffee even though it was cold.
(It replaces coffee.)
As I turned the newspaper’s damp pages, they disintegrated in my hands.
(They is a pronoun that takes the place of pages.) [color & emphasis added by CJ]

4 common types of pronouns – Chapter 30: Pronoun Types (p. 518):

demonstrative pronouns: pronouns that point to or single out a person or thing. The four demonstrative pronouns are this, that, these, and those.

object pronouns: pronouns that function as the objects of verbs or prepositions. Example: Tony helped me.

possessive pronouns: pronouns that show ownership or possession. Example: The keys are mine.

subject pronouns: pronouns that function as the subjects of verbs. Example: He is wearing an artificial arm.

AND SEE:
Langan on pronouns
the sweaters Mom knitted for Victor and me
“My husband likes football more than I/me.”
Pronoun case guidelines from Tidewater CC (very short and clear)
Diana Hacker on Choosing between pronouns such as I and me

Leave a Reply

