‘The sweaters Mom knitted for Victor and me’

for Victor and I
for Victor and me

Which one should you use?

Answer: for Victor and me

Here’s how to convince yourself that “for Victor and me” is right:

a sweater for me
a sweater for I
Which one sounds right?

a sweater for him
a sweater for he
Which one sounds right?

a sweater for her
a sweater for she
Which one sounds right?

sweaters for us
sweaters for we
Which one sounds right?

sweaters for them
sweaters for they
Which one sounds right?

It doesn’t change when you add “Victor”!

a sweater for me
a sweater for Victor and me

If you are a native speaker, the “object pronoun” (see the chart below) sounds right when you have just one OBJECT OF THE PREPOSITION. For some reason, though, the object pronoun stops sounding right to a lot of people when they add a second object of the preposition:

a sweater for Victor and _______ ??

Grammatically, nothing has changed; the preposition still takes an object pronoun!

A SWEATER FOR VICTOR AND ME
and
SWEATERS FOR HIM AND ME (not “sweaters for he and I”)

Here’s the test. Cross out the other object (or objects) and ask yourself which form of the pronoun sounds right.

Mom knitted a sweater for Victor and I.
Without “Victor” in the sentence, “I” is clearly wrong. So use “me.”

If you’re still feeling doubt, run the same test in reverse:
Mom knitted a sweater for Victor and me.
Without “Victor” in the sentence, “me” is clearly right. So use me!

More t/k.

AND SEE:
A question most students missed
Langan on pronouns
My husband likes football more than I/me.
HANDOUT: Pronoun case guidelines from Tidewater Community College (pdf file) – very short and clear
HANDOUT: Diana Hacker on Choosing between pronouns such as I and me (pdf file)

Leave a Reply

